Transportation - pipeline safety
Transportation Home :: Information for Motor Carriers :: Transportation Regulations :: Railroad :: Legal Notices :: Pipeline Safety :: Unified Carrier Registration :: Information for Consumers

Pipeline Safety

Jason Montoya, Bureau Chief


Emergency After Hours Number:
(505) 490-2375

Excavation Handbook English Excavation Handbook Spanish
English Version Spanish Version





Click Here For the Master Meter Program


Click Here To Report Third Party Damages
Now Accepting 2015
Line Locator of the Year Nominations

2013 NAPSR Compendium


New Mexico One Call
Statewide: 800-321-ALERT (2537)




Commission passes resolution declaring April as Safe Digging Month.
Pictured from left to right are:
Jordan Fernandez (PSB Admin), Anita Abeyta (PSB Admin), Bryan E. Brock (Transportation Division Director), Carlos Arras (PNM and NM811 Board President), Jason Montoya (Pipeline Safety Bureau Chief), District 4 Commissioner Lynda Lovejoy (Vice Chair), District 1 Commissioner Karen L. Montoya (Chairwoman), Sefie Anaya (Damage Prevention Supervisor), Steve Probst (PSB Damage Prevention Inspector), Chris Sanchez (PSB Damage Prevention Inspector), James Stanovcak (NM811 Executive Director), Tina Cigliano-Sisneros (PSB Executive Sec and Admin Assistant), Karen Diaz (PSB Admin), Isaac Lerma (PSB Pipeline Safety Supervisor), District 5 Commissioner Sandy Jones.

2014 Cooper Award

Pictured from left to right: Jason N. Montoya, Pipeline Safety Bureau Chief, Amanda Arrellin, AUI, Inc., and Sefie Anaya, Damage Prevention Supervisor


NM 811 - Call Before You Dig Commercial



Contact Us


Mailing Address Staff with email Title Phone

Public Regulation Commission
Pipeline Safety Bureau 
1120 Paseo De Peralta
P.O. Box 1269
Santa Fe, NM 87504




Emergency After Hours Number:
(505) 490-2375

Jason N. Montoya Bureau Chief 505-476-0253
Tina Cigliano-Sisneros Executive Administrator 505-476-0298
Sefie Anaya Damage Prevention Supervisor 505-231-5204
Isaac Lerma Pipeline Safety Supervisor 505-490-2958
Loretta Cuthrell Inspector 505-699-8693
David DePaola Inspector 505-490-1358
Robert (Bob) Edwards Inspector 505-490-0567
Jerry Nunez Inspector 505-699-2680
Joaquin Pineda Inspector 505-795-0969
Christopher Sanchez Inspector 505-629-3564
Philip Vigil Inspector 505-490-2135

The New Mexico Public Regulation Commission Pipeline Safety Bureau:

  • Is charged with the task of enforcing Federal and State Pipeline Safety Regulations in order to provide for the safe operation of natural gas and hazardous liquid facilities;

  • Is responsible for investigating intrastate pipeline incidents and accidents within New Mexico;

  • Enforces the State Excavation Damage Prevention Law; and

  • Is responsible for licensing crude oil, natural gas, and oil and gas product pipelines.

Through its 60105 Agreement with the U.S. Department of Transportation the Pipeline Safety Bureau is responsible for conducting safety compliance inspections and enforcing state and federal pipeline safety regulations for intrastate gas, hazardous liquid, and CO2 pipeline facilities. These include private and municipal gas distribution systems, master meter gas systems, LPG systems, transmission systems and jurisdictional gathering lines. The U.S. Department of Transportation Pipeline and Hazardous Safety Administration (PHMSA) conducts annual program evaluations used primarily to determine performance (e.g., operating practices, quality of State agency inspections, investigations, compliance actions and adequacy of recordkeeping).  The Pipeline Safety Bureau performance is the major factor considered in allocation grant-in-aid funds from the Federal Government each year.

Master Meter Program


2014 Master Meter/Damage Prevention Outreach

Pipeline Safety Manuals and Forms



Title 18: Transportation and Highways 
Chapter 60: Pipeline Construction and Maintenance

Related Links

Home - Consumer Relations - Utilities - Chief of Staff - Transportation - Administrative Services - State Fire Marshal - Contact Us