Click below to search the NMPRC website

COMMISSIONER Valerie Espinoza- District 3
Commissioners :: District 3


Valerie Espinoza
Commissioner - District 3

1120 Paseo De Peralta
P.O. Box 1269
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504
(505) 827-4533

Wildfire Taskforce

League of Women Voters of New Mexico Study of the New Mexico
Public Regulation Commission Final Report - July 30, 2013

Valerie Espinoza was elected Commissioner of District 3 of the Public Regulation Commission in November 2012.  She began serving her term and was selected to be Vice-Chair of the Commission in January 2013. She is committed to protecting the public interest while engaging utilities to advance efficiency and clean energy sources. She promotes innovation and technological advancement in the electric, gas, telecommunications, water, wastewater and transportation industries and advocates for public safety in oversight of the Fire Marshal.


  • 2016 –  Voted Chairwoman of New Mexico Public Regulation Commission (NMPRC). 

  • 2015 - Member of the NARUC TEAM, the Telecommunications Act Modernization Task Force.

  • 2013 – present.  Commissioner, District 3, New Mexico Public Regulation Commission (NMPRC). 
    • Elected Vice-Chair in 2013 and 2014.
    • Appointed Chair of the NMPRC Wildfire Task Force.
      • Convened over 20 tribal, state, federal, and local government agencies; utilities, cooperatives, non-profit organizations, and citizens to discuss wildfire prevention solutions.
    • Held public meetings to inform the public on electric utility, telecommunication and transportation issues throughout District 3.
      • Member of the Renewable Taos/Rocky Mountain Institute (RMI) eLab Accelerator Team.
    • Appointed to the committees of the National Association of Regulated Utility Commissioners.
      • Participated on the Committee on Energy Resources and the Environment.
      • Participated on the Subcommittee on Utility Marketplace Access.
      • Actively participated and promoted NARUC Hispanics in Energy Committee.

  • 2004-2012 Santa Fe County Clerk.
    • Brought county voting locations in compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act.
    • Helped pass legislation for all-paper ballot voting system in New Mexico.
    • Updated county voter records, which in turn updated the State Voter Registration system.
    • Implemented scanning of voter registration forms into the electronic voter registration file.
    • Oversaw successful implementation of updated system in Santa Fe County prior to the general election of 2006.
  • 1979-1984 - Supervisor, Notary Public Division, Office of the Secretary of State.
    • Authored procedures for use by future Secretaries of State and their employees.
  • 1984-2004 – Executive Office Administrator, Office of the Deputy Associate Laboratory Director, Los Alamos National Laboratory.
    • Supported Senior Managers and Directors.
    • Served as Lab liaison for partnering state and federal organizations including the U.S. Department of Energy.
    • Responsible for office staff.
    • Establishing office guidelines, organized conferences, served as designated Laboratory Meeting Planner for all Legislative and Congressional staff visits.
    • Organized the Laboratory's 1995 University Outreach Special Programs project included placing, interviewing, hiring, and counseling 170 minority students from around the world.


  • Local Government Graduate-Class of 2009.
  • Host of weekly TV program "Santa Fe County Today" on local channel 16 community access.
  • Member of the Capital City Business & Professional Women's Organization.
  • Member of the Northern New Mexico College Foundation Board.


  • Second Vice-President of the International Association of Clerks, Recorders, Election Officials and Treasurers.
  • Member of the County Clerk's Affiliate of the New Mexico Association of Counties.
  • Member of the National Association of Counties.
  • Member of the Northern Humane Society Advisor Board.
  • Del Norte Red Cross Board Member.
  • Northern New Mexico Citizens' Advisory Board Member.
  • Northern New Mexico Crisis Center Board Member.
  • Member of the State Commission for Film &Media Industries.
  • Member of the Sustainable Enhancement Team [SET] Task Force on Election Process.
  • Member of the Santa Fe County Task Force on DWI.
  • Member of the Espanola Animal Shelter Advisory Board.
  • Chairwoman of the Governor's Animal Shelter Services Board.
  • Host of weekly radio program on elections in the county and state, Que Suave, KSWV Radio AM 810.
  • Open Hands Board Member.
  • Member of the Board of Trustees of Santa Fe Children's Museum.
  • Member of the Board of New Mexico Association of Counties (NMAC)
  • Executive Board Member of the New Mexico Association of Counties.


  • Member of the NARUC TEAM, the Telecommunications Act Modernization Task Force (2015).
  • Albuquerque Business First, Woman of Influence (2014).
  • Capital City Professional and Business Woman of the Year, nominee (2011).
  • Capital City Professional and Business Woman of the Year (2009).
  • Local Government Leadership Program of New Mexico,  Certificate of Achievement (2009).
  • "Woman of the Year" recognition from the New Mexico Status of Women (2003 and 2007).
  • Pollution Prevention Awareness Award from Los Alamos National Laboratory.                 


  • Energy Policy Leadership Summit by Gee Strategies Group, December 2014.
  • Designation as a Certified Advocate for Public Ethics (CAPE), 2014.  New Mexico State University (NMSU) EDGE Program
  • Completion of coursework, Basics of Ratemaking, via NMSU Center for Public Utilities and the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners, 2013.
  • Leadership New Mexico, Local Government Leadership Program Alumni, Class of 2009
  • Bachelor of Arts from the College of Santa Fe in Organizational Psychology, 1997.
  • Associate of Applied Science from Northern New Mexico Community College in Human Services, 1993.
  • Certified Public Official, New Mexico State University County College.
  • Los Alamos National Laboratory - mediation, negotiation, conflict management and resolution training.


Press Releases

Former Picuris Pueblo Governor Richard Mermejo and NMPRC Commissioner Valerie Espinoza at the groundbreaking ceremony of the Picuris Pueblo Community Solar Array Project held April 19, 2017.

regulatory studies


PRC Chair Espinoza Completes Regulatory Studies Program

regulatory studies


Commissioner Espinoza Presents Award To Marine on Veterans Day

Award Presented


Five questions with PRC’s Valerie Espinoza (Video Below)

Serviceman William Caperton

Commissioner Espinoza’s Staff

Savanna Leyba
Phone: (505) 827-4533

Commissioner Espinoza Interviews - Consumer Advocacy

New Mexico Public Regulation Commission -
Jim Williamson, Consumer Relations Division

New Mexico Public Regulation Commission -
Milo Chavez, Utilities Division

Santa Fe County -
Craig, O'Hare, Energy Program Specialist

Kit Carson Electric Cooperative -
Luis Reyes, CEO

Valerie Espinoza is the Commissioner of the 3rd District of the Public Regulation Commission.

District 3 is shown as the orange area on the map below.

281,568 registered voters in District 3

Click here for larger view of map


Home - Consumer Relations - Utilities - Chief of Staff - Transportation - Administrative Services - State Fire Marshal - Contact Us